MedAccess Guarantee Ltd is an operationally independent company limited by shares with a distinct mandate and strategy to improve access to healthcare in underserved communities.

The Board of Directors is responsible for execution of the strategy and management of the company. It is comprised of experts from the fields of health and finance.

How the board operates

MedAccess’ Board is made up of seven members including is its Chair Professor Helen Rees OBE, CEO Michael Anderson, and five other non-executive directors.

This independent Board has overseen MedAccess’ development since its establishment and remains actively engaged. The Board also maintains four sub-committees which meet regularly.

These include an Investment Committee, chaired by Diana Noble CBE as well as Audit & Finance, People & Remuneration, and Governance & Nominations Committees.

MedAccess Board and senior staff ahead of the November 2022 Board meeting. ©MedAccess / Richard Wadey / 2022

Our Board members

Our Board members bring decades of experience in global health, finance, pharmaceuticals and investing.

Professor Helen Rees, OBE is a global health leader who has dedicated her life to improving the health of people in low- and middle-income countries through her research and her contribution to global health policy. She is founder and executive director of Wits Reproductive Health and HIV Institute.

Meet the Board members

Ownership structure

MedAccess is ultimately wholly owned by the UK Government through British International Investment plc (BII), the UK’s development finance institution.

BII is MedAccess’ sole shareholder, having invested $200 million in capital.

The office of the UK Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs owns BII.

"Through our Catalyst Strategies, we’ve built new companies – such as MedAccess, which provides innovative social finance to secure life-changing medical supplies for people in Africa and Asia."

Nick O'Donohoe, CEO, BII